US Elections 2010: Alaska Senate Race Results

US Elections 2010: Alaska Senate Race Results – There will surely be no proclaimed winner of the 2010 Alaska Senate race since the results are pointing to the victory of a “write-in” candidate which appears to be a vote for Alaska incumbent Senator Lisa Murkowski, Murowski is leading with 41% of the votes with nearly 80% of the votes tallied.

Murkowski was followed by Republican candidate Joe Miller, 34% and coming at third is the Democratic candidate for Senator, Scott McAdams, However, since the vote for Murkowski in the Alaska Senate race results are considered as write-in votes, these votes should be checked and verified whether the votes are actually for Murkowski and if they are then she will be proclaimed as the winner.

Lisa Murkowski lost the Republican primaries after Sarah Palin and the Tea Party endorsed and supported her rival in the primaries Joe Miller. Despite losing the primaries, Murkowski continued with her campaign as a write-in candidate. If she wins then it will be the first time since 1954 that a write-in candidate has won a Senate seat.

It will be weeks before we can see a conclusion to the Alaska Senate race and we might see some formal protest coming in.

Alaska Elections 2010 Results

Alaska Elections 2010 Results – The Alaska elections 2010 had been another stunning and we might say shocking results in this years primary elections. The win of Joe Miller against long-time Republican Lisa Murkowski, is a show of disgust for the establishment according to many voters and analysts.

Lisa Murkowski was appointed as Senator in 2002 and he re-election seems to be one sure deal until Joe Miller scored the backing of the Tea Party Express. The Tea Party Express is a California-based group that’s run ads, held rallies and questioned Murkowski’s conservative credentials.

Later on the primary elections former Alaska Governor and Vice Presidential candidate Sarah Palin and her husband Todd throw their support for Joe Miller. Palin defeated Murkowski’s father, Frank Murkowski, in a 2006 GOP gubernatorial primary that launched the 2008 vice presidential nominee’s national political career.

Joe Miller will be battling against Sitka Mayor Scott McAdams, who won the Democratic nomination. The Republiscan nominee is seen to surely win in this match-up.

Alaska has 487,456 registered voters but only 138,255 cards were cast or a turnout of only 28.36%.

Here are other results for the Alaska Elections 2010:

US Representative:

Democrat: Crawford, Harry T.
Republican: Young, Don

Alaska Governor:

Democrat: Berkowitz, Ethan A.
Republican: Parnell, Sean R

Alaska Lt. Governor:

Democrat: Benson, Diane E.
Republican: Treadwell, Mead

For the full Alaska Election 2010 results CLICK HERE.