Partial Lunar Eclipse Today, June 26, 2010


There is a scheduled partial lunar eclipse today, June 26, 2010. It will be the first of two lunar eclipses that will occur this year 2010. The next total lunar eclipse will occur six months later on December 21, 2010 and will be visible over North and South America. Lunar eclipse happen when the moon is covered by the Earth’s shadow. This particular eclipse will partially cover the moon by a maximum of 53.7%.

The partial lunar eclipse will start at around 10:17 GMT and will last for about three hours.  If you want to see the full partial lunar eclipse in its entirety from start to finish,  the best location is in the middle of the Pacific Ocean which would nearly be impossible unless you are sailing on a ship. The peak of the partial lunar eclipse will happen in 11:38 UTC. This is equivalent to 4:38 am in Pacific Time Zone, 5:38 am in Mountain Time zone, and 6:38 in Central Time Zone. During this time, the moon will be covered at the maximum of 53.7% of the Earth’s shadow. If you want to observe the partial lunar eclipse at its maximum, take note of these times.

The lunar eclipse will be visible in most western part of the world such as West of Brazil, Western Venezuela, and other South American countries west of these locations. It will also be visible in the western United States as well as in some countries in the Pacific islands such as Hawaii, Polynesia, Fiji, Marshall Islands, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Australia, and most of Japan and the Philippines. Regions such as eastern China, the east edge of the USSR, Indonesia and Thailand will be able to see the very end of the 2010 partial lunar eclipse. However, for those ones residing in Europe, sad to say but it cannot be seen in your region.