Sunday, October 26, 2014

Leonid Meteor Shower 2010 Peaks Tonight

November 19, 2010 by · Leave a Comment 

A new Leonid Meteor Shower 2010 tonight will be expected today, November 17 and tomorrow November 18, 2010. The Leonids meteor shower today will be one of the better meteor showers for observers since it produces an average of 40 meteors per hour at their peak.

According to Astronomical study the Leonid Meteor shower has a cyclic peak of every 33 years where hundreds of meteors can be seen each hour and the last one occurred in 2001. The Leonid meteor shower tonight will last until the 20th. For those who want to observe just look for the shower radiating from the constellation Leo after midnight.

Even though the Leonid meteor shower tonight and tomorrow will be far weaker than those in previous year it is still an spectacular show. Predictions estimates that the meteor shower rates will be from 15 to 20 per hour. Another hindrance to the Leonids tonight is the bright waxing gibbous moon that will seriously interfere with observing the early stages of the display.

The peak of the Leonid Meteor shower tonight is expected to have a maximum activity at at 1511 UT (10:11 a.m. EST). The International Meteor Organization (IMO) is forecasting it a little later which is at around 2115 UT (4:15 p.m. EST). Then the 2010 Observers Handbook of the Royal Astronomical Society of Canada says it will happen 45 minutes later at 2200 UT (5 p.m. EST).

Leonids Meteor shower 2010 tonight will greatly be seen throughout eastern Asia. In Northern America however, it looks like it will be a compromise between the predawn hours of Nov. 17 (with activity on the rise) and the predawn hours of Nov. 18 (with activity on the wane).

So get your time check ready and let us watch the Leonid Meteor Shower 2010 tonight.

Follow us on Twitter to get free up-to-date news via tweets from the World Correspondents, or you can subscribe to us by entering your e-mail below. You can confirm your free subscription by clicking the confirmation link that will be sent to your e-mail address. Once you've confirmed, then you're good to go.

Enter your email address:

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!
Or sign in with your FB account!

Connect with Facebook

Random Tags: Unemployment Extension, Wikileaks, Kate Middleton, Walmart Black Friday Ads 2014, The Red Market, South Park, Space Travel