Dream Team Joins Hall Of Fame

Scottie Pippen and Karl Malone are joining the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame as individual NBA players on Friday. They also were part of the legendary Basketball Team U.S.A. of the 1992 Barcelona Olympics, also more popularly known as the Dream Team. This once in a lifetime team was composed of Naismith Basketball Hall of Famers like Michael Jordan, Larry Bird, Earvin “Magic” Johnson, Scottie Pippen, John Stockton, Charles Barkley, David Robinson, Karl Malone, Patrick Ewing, Clyde Drexler and Chris Mullin.

On Friday night, these individuals reunite as a team to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

This Dream Team was the first ever basketball squad assembled composed of NBA players plus then collegiate standout Christian Laettner. The team was created to seek redemption after the loss of university players in the 1988 Olympics.

What made the Dream Team special was it was composed of legitimate NBA superstars. In fact opposing players watched them in awe as they displayed far superior basketball skills at the Olympics, winning by an average margin of more than 43 points.

The Dream Team reunites on Friday with their assistant coaches. Their head coach Chuck Daly died away last year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *