Beware of What You Click on Facebook

A fake “Dislike” Facebook application has gone viral on the internet and researchers say it is nothing more but a scam to perpetuate the downloading of the said application.

Avid Facebook users should be wary of messages like, “I just got the Dislike button, so now I can dislike all of your dumb posts lol!!”. Apparently, this aims to entice the receiver to get the same application for his Facebook account.

It turns out that when you click to activate the application it discreetly accesses your social network and sends the same message to everyone on your friends list. It also discreetly updates your Facebook status to promote the link that tricked you in the first place, thus spreading the application virally to your Facebook online contacts.

If have you already accidentally (or unwittingly) installed the fake application, click on the “account” button at the top right of the Facebook home screen. Go to the option that says “application settings,” and disable the fake “dislike” application.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *