Friday, March 23, 2018

Alberto Contador Grabbed Third Tour de France Title

July 22, 2015 by · Leave a Comment 

The Spanish cyclist, Alberto Contador just grabbed his third Tour de France title in four years. He won his first title in 2007 in the race under Discovery Channel team followed by another win in 2009 under UCI ProTeam Astana. His win this year made him the fifth racer in history, and the first Spaniard, to win all three Grand Tours of road cycling.

The Spanish flag has continued to fly high for four consecutive years. Pereiro got it in 2006, Contador in 2007, Saster in 2008, Contador once again last year and finally got it one more time this year.

He took a 39-second lead over Andy Schleck last Saturday. As to CNN, Mark Cavendish won the final stage of cycling’s premier event, which was delayed after seven-time winner Lance Armstrong’s team were ordered to change their jerseys. Armstrong finished more than 39 minutes behind Contador, who happened to be his teammate at Astana last year, after suffering from crashes early on in the grueling 21-stage race.

The climber’s title went to Anthony Chartreau of France while the declared top young rider was Andy Schleck of Saxo Bank.

Congratulations to the riders who participated!

Follow us on Twitter to get free up-to-date news via tweets from the World Correspondents, or you can subscribe to us by entering your e-mail below. You can confirm your free subscription by clicking the confirmation link that will be sent to your e-mail address. Once you've confirmed, then you're good to go.

Enter your email address:

Speak Your Mind

Tell us what you're thinking...
and oh, if you want a pic to show with your comment, go get a gravatar!
Or sign in with your FB account!

Connect with Facebook

Random Tags: Unemployment Extension, Wikileaks, Kate Middleton, Walmart Black Friday Ads 2014, The Red Market, South Park, Space Travel